Posted by: wurdygirl | April 17, 2008

The Doctor…Dr. Who

I was SOOOOOO excited yesterday…my Dr. Who (first season) DVDs arrived! I didn’t realize that they’d brought the Dr. back until I was surfing BBC and saw it. Of course, I had to have them! I used to watch Dr. Who when I was a kid and loved it. I was interested to see how the new Dr. Who compared to the old.

So, after pestering the kids to sit down and watch with me, I think I’ve gotten a new generation hooked on Dr. Who. Yes, it’s corny, but the show really speaks to my inner-nerd.

The only sad part to this new found excitement was that K had no clue what I was talking about. The day I ordered the DVDs I was so happy. When I told K, there was a TOTAL lack of excitement. He’d never seen the show! He’d never even heard of it. Kind of took the wind out of my sails…I’d wanted him to be as excited as I was.

Anyway, this is one of those things that come up from time to time. He came to the States from India when he was a teenager. So, all of the cartoons and shows I grew up with don’t mean much to him. On the other side of the coin, I can’t identify with some of the things he talks about either. I don’t know anything about some of the music he listens to. What’s worse…I can’t understand it.

Sometimes it’s a challenge, but we’ve been making new memories together over the past 8-9 years. We sit and remember the times when the kids or the pets did something funny. We remember holidays and small moments that we’ve spent together. It’s enough.

 

Responses

  1. I can relate to this…. but I really dont know who Dr Who is either lol.

    It happens here mostly with music. Although I love Hindi songs and he loves English songs… I cant understand most of them, and even though he can technically understand, the feeling is generally lost on him. Also, being nostalgic about most 80s/early 90s stuff is out.

  2. Oh, yes…I know. It’s something that I didn’t realize until recently. I’ll be singing along to something ’80s and he doesn’t know the song. Well, most of the time anyway. He does listen to Bruce Springsteen and Pink Floyd, but I don’t think he gets my whole Duran Duran crush.

    It’s also funny sometimes that he doesn’t get some sayings that I grew up with. I have to explain them. For instance, I had to explain what a snowball’s chance in hell was.


Leave a Reply

Categories

