Posted by: wurdygirl | April 23, 2008

HOLY ____________ (insert noun here)!!!!

Okay, well, I’m a fluffy girl for those of you who didn’t notice. I’ve tried every diet known to man, numerous diet pills, and exercise. However, I still have a weight problem. I think it’s a combination of things that contribute to it. I hate to sweat being one, emotional eating is another. Another thing is that I plateau after losing anywhere from 25-30 lbs.; and I don’t plateau for a few weeks, it’s a couple of months.

Anyway, I’m in the process of insurance approval to have the Lap Band procedure done. I think of this as a last resort and it’s not something I take lightly at all. The bottom line is that I HAVE to lose some weight for my health. I need to get my blood pressure down. I want to avoid diabetes; and I’d like to walk for long distances without being winded. K and I would also like to have children together and losing weight is a must if I want to avoid some complications such as gestational diabetes, infertility, etc.

I have to complete a 6 month supervised weight loss diet with my physician for the insurance to approve me. I have one visit left. I finished my psych eval and my nutritionist consults. So, I’m really trying hard to get ready to eat following the “band rules”. This includes pencil eraser sized bites of food; not drinking for 30 minutes before a meal, no drinks during the meal, and not drinking for at least an hour after the meal. Also, no liquid calories I also have to get my protein in first. It will consume 1/2 of my plate, veggies and fruit will take up almost half, and then starches will fill in about 1/4 of the plate. Keep in mind that I’ll only be able to eat about 2 ounces of food…so when I say ‘plate’ I mean like a tea cup saucer or a child’s plate.

I’ve haven’t been losing much weight on my physician supervised diet. So, I decided to start logging my food and counting Weight Watcher points again. I’ve been trying to follow the rules, but it hasn’t worked so far. Now that I’m journaling everything I eat, I’m completely shocked. No wonder I haven’t lost anything!!! It’s not that I’m eating bad things all the time, but I eat a LOT. I had no idea.

ARGH!!!! %^#$$%#$#^$^$%#^%%%^@!!!! I’m so upset! I can’t wait to get my band! However, in the meantime, I have to try very hard to get my eating habits right before I undergo this surgery. *sigh*   

Leave a Reply

Categories

