Posted by: wurdygirl | April 29, 2008

Lovely Lentils

 

I’m so proud of myself! I finally decided to experiment a little bit with lentils in my quest to find good for me recipes. I think I hit the jackpot here. This is a variation on lentil soup. I made mine with some Mexican flavors and it turned out to be very delicious! Here’s a picture:

 

Luscious Lentil Soup

 

Luscious Lentil Soup

1 lb lentils

Enough water to cover about 6 inches over lentils

3 tbl vegetable broth (I used ‘Better Than Broth’ brand)

3/4 onion, chopped

4 carrots, sliced

3 stalks celery, sliced

1 can of corn

1 can of diced tomatoes

3 cloves garlic

3 tbl mexican chili powder

3 tbl cumin

a couple of dashes of red pepper flakes

1 cup fresh spinach, chopped

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

limes to squeeze over bowl of soup (1/2 lime per bowl)

Combine all ingredient except spinach, cilantro, & lime. Bring soup to a boil. Turn down heat and simmer until lentils are soft. Add chopped spinach, cooking for a few minutes until leaves are wilted. Turn off heat and add cilantro. Serve with half a lime on the side for squeezing into the soup bowl. (The lime really rounds this off nicely.) Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

