Posted by: wurdygirl | May 6, 2008

Porch Days

K and I were talking about what kind of house we’d like recently. We both tend to favor those houses with wrap-around porches. We both love porch swings, coffee out on the porch in the morning, & breezy nights. I know that these are things that I’ve never really appreciated that much, but as I get older, I’m finding myself more and more attracted to this sort of lifestyle.

Both K and I have gotten interested in things that we never imagined. He’s gotten into astronomy. He has some fabulous telescopes and binoculars. I’ve discovered that I like bird watching. I love to sit on the porch and watch them at the bird feeders. These things give us a lot of joy and helps to relax us. Fortunately, these interests compliment one another.

We’re hoping that we can find a house that will allow us to continue to enjoy these things. It must be a little out of the city…can’t have the light pollution interrupt K’s viewing of the stars and I want the birds to have a quiet place to congregate so that I can watch them. Wish us luck…we know our dream house is out there somewhere.

Responses

  1. hi! i hope you find that dream house! i would LOVE to have a porch too. : ) actually, if we ever owned a house, i think i’d take a big porch over enough bedrooms. to top it off, the house we rent actually has a porch that has been closed in to make the house bigger. oh how i wish they’d let me open it up again! i love the idea of a swing, ice tea and chatting with neighbors walking by on a great summer night. hope you get it!
    patty

  2. I love the idea of a large porch too! and the courtyard, especially that one. It feels so nice to be outdoors!

    That was sweet what you wrote about mothers day. Hope you had a good one!

  3. Oops, I replied to both in one post so I wasnt posting all over the place and I forgot to say some stuff!

    Im into the birds too. Was thinking of getting a book or something to learn more. Just yesterday I saw two extremely bright orange ones! Might have been an oriole, but they was just so bright!

    And Im jealous that you added farmgirl fare to your blogroll before I did!!! lol! Ive been reading her for years. The lamb pics are tooo cute. And from her I developed my love of scones.

  4. patty…I would trade a porch over bedrooms too. There’s nothing nicer than sitting on the porch, swinging, watching the birds, and drinking iced tea. Ahhhh..that’s such a great picture.

    Mirchi…as I said, bird watching is something that I’d never understood until the past year or so. I think that I’ve slowed down to appreciate things. You know, that’s why I love Farmgirl Fare. I love the pictures and the peaceful setting. I don’t think I’d care for mucking the stables or anything, but it does seem to be a good life, don’t you think?


Leave a Reply

Categories

