Posted by: wurdygirl | May 16, 2008

TGIF!!!

This has been one heck of a week! The kids at school all have Spring Fever and are acting crazy and I’m still playing the waiting game for the moment.

On the waiting game…I called the insurance at lunch and I was told that the medical review board contacted the surgeon’s office to get better copies of my medical records. I’m happy to say that the surgeon’s office responded quite promptly and had the records overnighted to BCBS. They had just received the records that morning and when I called, the lady said that she was going to hand the new copies to the medical review board. So, still waiting, but they do seem to be moving pretty quickly. I’m hoping to have an answer by next week although they do have 30 days to decide. We’ll see. I’ll keep you updated.

On another note, I’ve had major allergy issues these past couple of days and I’ve not been feeling well. I think some of it is contributed to by stress though. I tend to get run down and start running a fever when I’m not sleeping well or when I’m super-stressed.

That brings me to another point. I’ve got to make sure and eat healthy over the weekend to avoid feeling any worse. I’m a soup-lover and I plan on making some homemade soup to help get me over the hump hopefully. I’m definitely a firm believer in the healing powers of soup.

Another thing I’m doing along grocery lines is that I’m buying stuff that I can have multiple uses for.  For instance, I’m going to buy a chicken, some veggies, cheese, cabbage, cilantro, & salsa (don’t have the energy to make it this weekend) to use over the next couple of days. I’ll boil the chicken and veggie to make a nice stock (sorry, veggie friends). Out of this I will make some soup for myself.  I’ll then probably make chicken and dumplings one night or perhaps a pasta salad with chicken and veggies added in. Of course, we’ll have taqueria-style tacos one night too. So, multiple uses out of a couple of items. I hope to make this part of my routine from now on. Our grocery bill skyrockets during the summer with these teenagers to feed!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

