Posted by: wurdygirl | May 26, 2008

Chinese Food and Chest Congestion

Hmmmm…what do the two have in common? Well, not much, but I can say that eating some good hot & sour soup can help clear the sinuses.

I’m still suffering from chest congestion and am starting to get really worried about my pre-op appointment. If I’m still congested, I’m sure they won’t okay my surgery. So, I’ve been in search of something…anything…to help clear up my chest. I’ve already completed a Z-pak (antibiotics). I’ve been taking Mucinex and using my Albuterol inhaler when I need to. I’ve slept slathered with Vicks and the humidifier on. I’ve spent a lot of time locked in a steamy bathroom. I’m drinking my weight in fluids. I’ve downed apple cider vinegar & cayenne. The only upside to this whole thing is that I’ve lost almost 10 lbs simply because I’m not hungry.

So, today the boys went over to a friend’s house and that left DD and I home alone. After yet another trip to CVS, I decided that there was no way I was cooking anything tonight. DD was hungry for Chinese food. We went. I ordered Hot & Sour soup. I like to spice it up a bit by adding some kind of chili sauce they have. Imagine my surprise after the first 4 spoonfuls when my nose started running, my eyes started watering, and I started coughing hard enough to cough up a lung. Dear God…talk about misery. The poor owners were whacking me on the back. I’m sure they were concerned that I was going to die in their restuarant. Once I stopped coughing, I explained that I have been sick and was then encouraged to eat MORE of the soup. I was told it would clear my congestion. I was a little frightened, but I did start eating it again…slowly…and I do feel a bit better. I also managed to eat some broccoli and mushrooms from DD’s chicken lo mein. The kicker is that I’m full…stuffed kind of full…and I hadn’t eaten since this morning. So, I guess there is an upside to being sick.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to get rid of chest congestion, I’d love to hear them! 

Responses

  1. Try ginger tea!

    Grate 1-2 TBS of fresh ginger. Simmer along with a couple peppercorns(or a sprinkle of ground pepper)in 2+ cups of water for 10 mins. Strain. When cooled enough to drink, but still hot, stir in honey. Make sure to use honey for its antibacterial properties.

    Hope this helps!

  2. Oh, you can also add a pinch of turmeric to the tea. :p

  3. And avoid dairy products, as you probably know. 😀

  4. Mirchi…you are so funny! I actually did try your tea except I didn’t have fresh ginger on hand. I used powdered…somehow I don’t think it was the same. Let’s just say that it did clear my sinuses though! Oh, and I also got some soy milk. I think I might developing a sensitivity to dairy…eeee gads!


Leave a Reply

Categories

