Posted by: wurdygirl | May 28, 2008

I’m Buying Stock….

…in CVS! I kid you not, I have been in that store EVERY day. I’ve spent more money there than I care to count over the past 2 weeks. It’s so bad that they even know me by name. Everyone waves at me when I walk in the door. How did that song go…”Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name…and they’re always glad you came.” Somehow I imagined that the song always alluded to some place a lot more fun than CVS.

Hopefully, tonight was my last trip to CVS for a while. My doctor called in a prescription for a Medrol Dose Pack…mmmmm….steriods. I’m praying that it will get me over this final hump. I am getting better….very, very slowly. I still have a very alarming cough though. I can see the worry in other people’s eyes when I start up. It’s not fun.

My friend, Mirchi, told me that drinking my Unjury chicken broth was not a good idea the night before surgery due to the sodium content. I won’t be able to have anything to drink. Now, I’m back to trying to figure out a way that I won’t starve until my surgery.

Actually, I’m not even really upset about it right now. I have not been hungry lately; and when I do eat, it’s just not enjoyable. I think I’m even getting a little depressed about it. I’m used to dealing with stress by eating. Social events center around eating. I didn’t even have cake, punch, or any other goodies at a retirement party today. My lunch was tasteless and I forced myself to eat just to have something. This is getting sad. On the other hand, perhaps it’s a way of preparing me for the surgery. I won’t be able to use food to medicate myself anymore.

Oh, and today is K’s birthday. Poor guy is bogged down with work until the end of the week. A presentation coming up on Friday and more job hunting. I’ll be glad when my surgery kind of forces both of us to take a break and we can spend more time together. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

