Posted by: wurdygirl | May 30, 2008

Tasteless Pizza

Okay, those of you who know me well, know I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Papa John’s cheese pizza. In preparation for my upcoming surgery, I decided that my last really fun meal would be that wonderful pizza. I am starting my pre-op diet on Sunday and was really looking forward to this last meal. We ordered some pizza tonight and it was with great delight that I awaited the pizza delivery man. I was soooooo excited when I heard the knock on the door and thrilled when I saw that pizza man even brought extra seasoning packets without being asked. What a great pizza guy! Anywho…I was so looking forward to eating my pizza. You know what…it wasn’t that good. Since I have been sick, I haven’t been able to really taste anything and today was no exception. Actually, I take that back. I could taste, it just didn’t taste good. I’m pretty bummed about the whole thing. Now I don’t have anything else to look forward to eating before going on my pre-op diet. It’s kind of depressing…or maybe not. Maybe this is a new start to my relationship with food. I hope.

Today was also the last day at work (at the school) for this year. I’m still working at the hospital, but told them that I couldn’t work more hours until after June 16th. It was kind of sad saying goodbye to my room and to the people there. I’m going to miss not seeing my friend across the hall over the summer. I’m going to really miss the kids…even taking into consideration how crazy they were these past few weeks.

So, now I’m wondering what I have to look forward to this next week. I think sleeping in will be one thing. I am also hoping that I’ll lose a little more weight before surgery during my pre-op diet. It will include 2 protein shakes a day and a dinner of protein and veggies. I’m actually kind of looking forward to that in a way too. I’m counting down the days until my surgery. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

