Posted by: wurdygirl | June 5, 2008

Growing Pains

I haven’t written in a few days. Things have been sort of hectic around here although they’re settling down now. A couple of days ago, much to my shock and horror, my oldest son decided that life would be better at his dad’s house. So, I packed him up and let him go. We’d been arguing a lot recently. You know, sixteen going on forty kind of thing. Anyway, I think it needed to happen and I believe he’ll be back soon. I think he just needs to see that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. So, I’ve been a little sad lately. I am still suffering from random crying jags, but trying to keep my spirits up.

K, my parents, and my friends have been wonderful during this period and it makes me feel so blessed that I have all of them. My two younger kids are actually doing very well. I think they were tired of the tension in the household. My younger son has even seemed to blossom a little bit.

My eating has been a little off during this period too. I had a chicken sandwich the night my son left and I had pizza last night. I’m not beating myself up about it though. Today, I am back on the self imposed, liquid diet and trying to get mentally ready for my surgery on Monday. I’m still very excited and a little nervous too. This will change my whole life in regards to my relationship with food. Now, I have to choose healthy options because my stomach pouch will be small. Therefore, to get the proper nutrition, I have to choose foods with the most nutritional value for the amount. I also have to face that there may be some foods that I really like that I just can’t have anymore. For instance, I make killer cheese onion bread. It is sooooo delicious! However, I’m aware that I may not be able to eat it anymore (or keep it down for that matter), and I’m okay with that. I think that the health benefits of losing weight far outweigh those things.

Okay, I’ve also been tagged by Mirchi. Here are the 6 rules and my 6 unspectacular quirks:

1. Link the person who tagged you.
2. Mention the rules in your blog.
3. Tell us about 6 unspectacular quirks of yours.
4. Tag 6 following bloggers by linking them.
5. Leave a comment on each of the tagged blogger’s blogs letting them know they’ve been tagged.

Here goes:

1. The toilet paper must be placed on the toilet roller with the paper hanging over the top. It makes me absolutely insane to have it dangling down on the backside.

2. I like to sort Skittles by color before I eat them.

3. I love, love, LOVE Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Yes, I know it’s corny, but I still love it!

4. I like to kiss and snuggle my cats behind their ears.

5. I’m super organized at work, but so very unorganized at home. The differences between my desks at work and at home are scary.

6. One of my all time favorite movies is The Rear Window with Jimmy Stewart and Grace Kelly.

Responses

  1. I used to sort the m&ms by colour and eat them in some particular order, which I forget now.

    I wonder what makes us do that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

