Posted by: wurdygirl | June 12, 2008

Shoulder Pain

I don’t mind telling you, last night was sheer hell to get through. I’ve been told that around your 3rd day out is the worst and I’m praying that is true. I think that some of the problem stems from the gas pain and irritation of the diaphragm. I’m told that those nerves in the diaphragm also enervate the shoulder, neck, and back area. When the diaphragm is irritated, you get referred pain in your shoulder. Whatever it is or however it works, I have it.

Things started to go downhill when I was eating some broth. I was still very bloated and gassy from the stuff they used to pump into the abdominal cavity. It seemed that the broth did not agree with me and increased the gas factor. So, I took some Phazyme instead of the Gas X. I was told that Phazyme works much better. Anyway, I do think that the medication went to work. I felt like I had an alien inside of my intestines and stomach…they were moving around so much. I don’t mind telling you that it hurt a lot. Anyway, I did manage to burp a lot of it out, but there was still a lot of trapped gas with nowhere to go. I wound up getting up about 3am and sat on the couch for a while in the dark, then I went and stood under a hot shower for almost an hour. That seemed to help a bit. I then came back and lay down in bed…very carefully, because I was convinced I was going to be sick. I eventually went to sleep at some point.

I will say that whatever hell that was, it’s better today…somewhat. I still have the horrid shoulder pain when I sit up or walk or take deep breaths. I’ve spent the majority of the day in the bed, resting my shoulder against the heating pad. I woke up from a long nap feeling quite good, but that shoulder pain keeps sneaking up on me at times.

I did manage to get some Stage 1 baby food bananas down today. I didn’t finish the whole 2.5oz jar, but I ate the remainder for lunch with some apple sauce. Now I’m in the process of figuring out what I’d like to eat for dinner. I think I might try cream of chicken and pray it doesn’t wreak havoc on my system.

Leave a Reply

Categories

