Posted by: wurdygirl | July 5, 2008

Exercise? Who? ME?!?!?!

I have been confused recently about caloric intake with the band. My literature from the surgeon says that I’m not supposed to go over 1500 calories. When I went for my 2 week check up, I told them that I was routinely eating anywhere from 800-1000 calories a day. I was assured that this was good for women especially and that I was doing perfectly. The scale hasn’t been moving lately…well, okay, it has…but I’ve gained and lost the same 2 lbs over and over. I could not figure out what was going on since I know darn well that the scale should be reflecting SOMETHING.

So, I set off on a search for answers. One thing that I kept running into on the message boards were that women are not supposed to go below 1200 calories a day. I believe those are federal health guidelines unless you’re on some special physician supervised diet; and even then, it’s not meant to be a long term thing. Your body will go into starvation mode and your metabolism will slow way down when you remain on an extremely low calorie diet. This took me back to my WW days and how I used to alternate low calorie and high calorie days to “fool” my body into keeping my metabolism up. The long and the short of it is that I started to do that, but with healthy food choices and my diminished stomach capacity, it’s kind of hard to get your caloric intake up too much. I also started worrying about going against what my surgeon said. Cripes! I’m so confused!

K came to the rescue as usual and gave me some food for thought after listening to me pour out my frustrations and confusion. He told me that perhaps that’s why the surgeon stresses exercise so much- to offset the effects of an extremely low calorie diet. When you exercise, you rev up your metabolism. Hmmmm….I don’t know, but it sounds good to me.

This brings me to today. I decided that I seriously needed to get busy moving. I have a bad back that troubles me when I do a lot of walking over uneven terrain. Actually, it troubles me when I walk for too long on the sidewalk as well. However, I remember doing quite well with Leslie Sansone and her “Walk…” series. Not to mention that it’s much nicer to follow that DVD in air conditioned comfort rather than in the hot Texas sun. My only problem was that I couldn’t find my DVD. ARGH!

I wound up buying a new one. It’s called “Walk Away Your Waistline”. It comes with this belt that has resistance bands attached. WHEW! Let’s just say that I didn’t make it through all 3 miles…in fact, I didn’t even make it to 2 miles. I’m sooooo out of shape. I was happy to log in on thedailyplate.com and see how many calories I burned. Yea, me! I also took the kiddies swimming tonight and did my water aerobic moves. My arms are like limp noodles with both of those exercises today.

I’ll let you know how it turns out. We’ll see if K’s theory is right. I hope and pray that the scale starts moving again…down!

Responses

  1. Have you thought about a fitness program. Go to my blog and read from the beginning. It will help you. If you have any questions please feel free ask. http://coachtu.wordpress.com/

  2. Hey, Coach A 🙂

    Actually, I’m trying to start some kind of fitness program. I just don’t really know what to do. I have started doing the Leslie Sansone DVD and swimming, but for the next couple of weeks I have to take it easy due to still healing from my Lap Band surgery. I’ve been warned to definitely avoid abdominal exercises until they release me to do them so that I don’t mess up my port.

    Swimming has been one of the best exercises for me in the past. I used to swim laps every day. I can tell you that even without changing my diet at the time, those laps took the weight off quickly and I got very toned. My lung capacity improved, my stress levels decreased, and I felt great.

    Anyway, I took a look at your blog and really liked it. I’ll admit that I was a little dubious, but you’ve really got some great tips and knowledge. I’m going to keep reading and putting some things into practice! Thanks for your comment 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

