Posted by: wurdygirl | July 12, 2008

The Joys of Swimming

Yes, the title says it all. I love swimming. I’m still not happy in a bathing suit, but there’s something about the water that takes even that care away.

Growing up, swimming was one of my favorite things to do…that is, until I got to be a teenager and worried about what people would say about me in a bathing suit. It’s a shame that I let that get in the way of my joy. These days, after 3 children, I don’t care so much anymore.

I rediscovered swimming a couple of years ago. A messy custody battle, stress at work, a lot of pent up anger all combined to make a very unhappy Carrie. This is also the time I got put on blood pressure medications as well. I decided at that point that I would try to relax a little bit. So, I went back to swimming. I can still remember sneaking out to the pool in the early morning in hopes that no one else would be there. I remember being absolutely mortified when someone would show up and I was ready to get out of the pool. Talk about the walk of shame! Eventually, I got to the point where I would swim laps and then I’d be so exhausted that I’d sit down on one of the lounge chairs just to rest for a moment before heading back to the house. The sun would feel so good and relaxing, I began to forget everyone was around and started to lay out a little bit. By the end of the summer, I was dropping weight like you wouldn’t believe, felt more relaxed, and certainly didn’t give a damn what anyone thought of me. In fact, I became such a regular at the pool, I found many people to talk to.

Then fall came…and the weight came back because I wasn’t exercising or eating correctly. When the next summer rolled around, I just wasn’t ready to go back through all of the shame and embarrassment that putting on a swimsuit entailed. More pounds added on…

Today, I’m feeling better after my Lap Band surgery. I’m down 35 lbs and putting myself first again. I recently started swimming again. I still don’t like the way I look in the bathing suit, but it is what it is…and I’m changing. I know I won’t always look like this; so, why not do some physical activity that I enjoy?

I find the water soothing. When I slip into the pool, I can literally feel my tension leaving my body. There’s also the rush of pleasure when I think that I can’t push my burning muscles and lungs anymore while swimming laps and then discover that I can go just a little bit further. The quiet solitude of swimming underwater and the massaging ripples against me. There’s no better exercise for me.

Responses

  1. Congrats on the 35 pounds!! Keep on truckin’


Leave a Reply

Categories

