Posted by: wurdygirl | July 17, 2008

Crockpots, Indian Spouses, and Tamale Pie

I bet you’re wondering what these things have in common, eh?

Let me start off by saying that I had an exceptionally good time online today. It’s not often that I get really excited about a website, but I was so glad to find these two!

The first website that I am super ecstatic about is www.marriedtoindia.com . This website is easy to navigate and is full of a lot of friendly people. I spent a lot of time browsing through the message boards. I’m so glad this website is around and wish that I would have found it earlier. It’s sometimes very hard to find others that can relate to my particular situation. Imagine my pleasant surprise to find another divorced mom with kids who married an Indian man. Some people I can relate and talk to about Indian weddings, mixed children, and interfaith! I’m so excited!!!!!

The other website I’m excited about is www.crockpot365.blogspot.com. This website features a mom who decided to use her crockpot every day for a year. She also cooks gluten-free and has some very Lap Band friendly recipes. I love my crockpot, especially in this Texas heat! I’m always on the lookout for new recipes that I can have now that I’m banded AND that I can feed my son, the vegetarian. I used one of her recipes for Crockpot Tamale Pie tonight. Dinner was EASY and pleased everybody! I didn’t follow the directions exactly, but I did get the idea from her website. She has a fabulous website and I encourage you check it out.

Tamale Pie

2 cans Ranch Style black beans

1 can corn

1 c salsa

1/2 c cheddar cheese

garlic, chili powder, cumin to taste

Crust:

Jiffy Cornbread Mix

1 egg

1/3 c skim milk

1. Dump black beans, corn, salsa, cheese, and seasonings into crockpot.

                                                                                                                                                  

2. Mix Jiffy cornbread mix according to directions and slowly pour over bean mixture. Will look something like this:

                                                                                                                                                                        

3. Turn crockpot on low. Cover crockpot (no peeking) and cook for about 4 hrs. Spoon and serve when ready.

Leave a Reply

Categories

