Posted by: wurdygirl | July 22, 2008

6 Weeks Post Op

Well, I’m now 6 weeks post op from my Lap Band. I’m down 40 lbs and feeling good. I haven’t been weighing this week because I’m a little bit afraid to. I’m eating a little more than I think I should be able to and I’m off my water pills…*gulp*…and it’s that time of the month. I just know I’ve gained or at least haven’t lost anything. I’m much, much hungrier than I have been, but I attribute that to the TOM thing. I generally get hungry for crunchy, starchy things around this time. I’ve been resisting for the most part.

I went to my first support group meeting last night with my buddy from school (work, not uni). She’s getting her band on the 25th and I’m soooooo excited for her! We started this journey together and I’m anxious for her to join me on the loser’s bench.

I also took a trip to the health food store yesterday. I had to pick up some more natural almond butter. YUM!!! I also picked up a couple of packages of Falafel mix. We had those last night and they were delicious. We ate them in a whole wheat pita and with some greek yogurt.

Image Preview 

These lucious, little, balls of chickpeas and spices did much to satisfy my starchy cravings too! The kids loved them and I now have a new dinner idea! Another upside to them, is that it meets my son’s dietary requirements/desires as well as my own. Yippeee! Rest assured that these will make their way on our table at least a couple of times a month. The mix is easy and they don’t have to be fried. They can be made in the oven or even in the crockpot.

Oh, and my first fill is coming up on the 28th. I’m very excited, a little nervous, and extremely ready for it! I’ll let you know how it goes.

Responses

  1. Hello;

    I’m seriously thinking of having the lap band done. I feel that in order for me to live a quality life I must do something. I’m 50 and suffer from diabtetes and major pain (arthritis) in my knees. I have a very busy job that keeps me hopping. I just want to hear someones story who took the step. I saw your blog and thought I’d touch base with you. Hope you don’t mind. Janet from Spokane

  2. Hi Janet! I love my band very much and only wish that I would have gotten it done sooner. I had high blood pressure and was well on my way to diabetes. I’m now off of my blood pressure meds…all 3 of them…and doing great.

    I’ve heard that for every pound you lose, that’s 4 lbs less pressure on the joints. I have 2 ruptured discs in my back that have caused me much pain. It’s gotten much better since losing some of my weight. I’m hoping that it will continue to improve as I lose more.

    If you have any questions, please feel free to ask and I’ll help in any way I can 🙂

  3. Hi Wurdygirl!
    I had my surgery done in May and I feel just wonderful! My weight loss is about a pound a week and I am NOT dieting but just letting the band do it’s job. I eat the amount I am supposed to and, except for the occasional chocolate bar…, I no longer feel the need to over eat. At two weeks, this is the stage known as “two weeks from hell”. I put information about this period in my blog at loobiesmith.wordpress.com it is titled two weeks from hell, I think… but my fill is good now and I feel just like I did after surgery, so DON’T WORRY! Let the band do it’s job! It will come in time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

