Posted by: wurdygirl | July 26, 2008

My Love/Hate Relationship with Turkey

I really love turkey; especially smoked turkey…well, most of the time. Let me tell you what happened to me today.

My neighborhood grocery store had turkey on sale for 49 cents/pound. So, I happily bought my turkey and even more gleefully took the turkey to a local BBQ place to have it smoked. That was actually yesterday. Today, the nice people at the BBQ place called me at 7:30 this morning to tell me that my turkey was ready whenever I wanted to pick it up. So, after I woke up and got moving around a bit, I ventured outside to go pick up the turkey. I can’t tell you how good it smelled in the car. I really wanted to tear into it on the way home, but I restrained myself.

When I got home, I opened the foil to the oooohs and ahhhhs that my daughter and I were both making. She grabbed a leg; I just cut a slice of breast meat. Now, I don’t know why I can’t seem to remember that I can’t eat white meat turkey or chicken anymore. Apparently I have some kind of mental block when it comes to white meat poultry. I chewed and chewed and enjoyed the delicious flavor…then, I swallowed. I should have stopped there because something didn’t feel quite right, but being the stubborn person that I am, I took another bite. Big mistake…HUGE mistake actually. I then did an even more stupid thing…well, my thought processes were stupid anyway. I quickly wrapped the turkey back up in the foil; all the while thinking, “See? I’m putting it up. Nope, no more for me. I’m being good. Please don’t let me throw up.” I don’t know who I was really talking to in my mind. Perhaps it was God. You know, that reasoning talk that everyone sometimes does. I thought, “I’m sliding it into the refrigerator now. See, closing the door. Please, please, please don’t let me throw up. I’ll even leave the kitchen.” Needless to say, I didn’t make it. The next thing I knew, I was bent over the sink. Without getting too graphic, let’s just say that my body rid itself of the turkey.

Now I guess I should probably stick to liquids for the rest of the day just to give my stomach a rest. I also think I’m going to wrap that turkey up and put it in the freezer. *sniff*

Leave a Reply

Categories

