Posted by: wurdygirl | July 28, 2008

1st Fill Experience

I had my first fill today. I was pretty nervous about it to be quite honest. I’ve watched those videos on YouTube and have seen the long, scary needles. Let me assure you that my experience went off without a hitch and no scary or painful things happened.

First, I had to lay on the table with a pillow underneath my back. She then took pictures of my port with an ultrasound machine and marked the area that she wanted. After that, I closed my eyes because she was prepping the fill and getting the needle out. Needless to say, I didn’t see anything. She then wiped the area off with alcohol and then waited a moment. She told me that I’d feel a small stick. In all actuality, I didn’t feel anything more than some pressure. She then very quickly took the fluid I had in out and then replaced it and added 2 cc’s. So, I now have 2.5cc’s in my 10cc band.

Next, she had me sit up and drink some water for her to see if I had any trouble getting it down. I didn’t. The only thing I noticed was I had a lot of gurgling noises as I drank, but no feeling of it backing up into my throat. I was free to leave after that. I can honestly say that I really didn’t feel that differently until I was shopping in a book store a little later. All of a sudden, I could feel some pressure in my stomach area…nothing painful or bad, just enough to let me know something was there…similary to after surgery. I decided to drink some more water at that point to make sure that I could still swallow okay. I did with no problems.

Tonight is a soft, mushy food diet again. I guess I’ll have some greek yogurt and cottage cheese for dinner. Tomorrow at breakfast should be interesting. I think I’m going to have to drink something warm to loosen things up a bit so that I don’t get stuck. I’ll let you know how things are going.

Responses

  1. did they freeze you? For me the fills hurt like heck!

  2. Hey Loobie! Nope, didn’t deaden the area at all. The only uncomfortable part was the pressure of the ultrasound transducer on my port area, but that didn’t last long fortunately. She did say that some people develop scar tissue over the port and sometimes she has to kind of dig or push really hard. That sounds like it would hurt. Anyway, she said that she had no trouble getting in the port right away on me. I’m very grateful!

    Do you think you might have some scar tissue build up? Really sorry yours hurt…that stinks ):


Leave a Reply

Categories

