Posted by: wurdygirl | August 7, 2008

2 Month Check In

Okay, well it’s not quite 2 months, but I thought I’d go ahead and do the update. My imagination is not in high gear these days and I find it difficult to find things to write about. Here are some pictures of me 2 months post-op Lap Band.

I’m down 43 pounds from my highest weight. It’s been a learning experience so far, but a great one.

I read a post today on obesityhelp.com that got me thinking. Basically, it was asking what your diet outlook or what your diet “lifestyle” is. I had to think about it for a moment. The best answer I could come up with is that my diet “lifestyle” is really about adapting to my needs and moderation. For instance, I don’t deprive myself of something I really want. I have done that in the past and it’s never worked because I’d wait until I was almost out of my mind with wanting something before I would indulge. This brought on bingeing episodes that I’m still embarrassed about. Recently I was hit with a dark chocolate craving out of nowhere. I gave in and bought some Hershey’s extra dark chocolate squares. I have a whole package stashed away for myself. However, I only allow myself to have 2 squares a day. I can have them any time I wish, but only 2. It’s working so far. I get to have a taste of what I want, but in moderation. If it becomes a problem food for me, I’ll give it up.

An example of adapting my diet are almonds. I recently discovered Blue Diamond Vanilla Bean almonds. YUM! I started off eating only an ounce a day, but over time began sneaking more in. I realized that this had become a problem food for me. I finished the jar and have not bought anymore since. I don’t miss them, but I’m not willing to buy more to see if my willpower is strong enough to resist the temptation to continuously snack throughout the day. Not yet anyway. I’ll reintroduce them one of these days; but not now.

I realized that I don’t have the answer for everyone. My diet works for me, but probably wouldn’t work for someone else. I think that having the band has made me realize that this really is a journey. It’s a journey of self-discovery.

Leave a Reply

Categories

