Posted by: wurdygirl | August 11, 2008

Nothing Spectacular

I wish that I could say that we have some exciting things happening around here right now, but we don’t. I’m slowly finishing off the last of my de-cluttering projects at the house before going back to work next week. The kids are in the normal summer mode of going to bed late and waking up late.

I’m in kind of a funk with my diet. I’m getting a little bored and am trying to find some new recipes to infuse some excitement into my food. Tonight I tried two new dishes out of sheer desperation. One turned out great, the other…eh…well, it was okay.

The one that turned out really good was the stewed tomatoes topped with parmesan cheese and 1 T of butter and baked. Oh, man…it was sooooooooo GOOD! It didn’t look like much, but tasted great.

The other was the mashed potato replacement recipe that uses cauliflower. It wasn’t terrible, but it might take some getting used to if I can persuade myself to make it again. On the other hand, perhaps I’m not being fair because the kids liked it quite a bit and finished off my portion. I think that my expectations were a little too high for them to really taste like mashed potatoes. You know, kind of like those people who tell you that you can grind up peas or something to make mock guacamole and cut the fat and calories. Yeah, it’s kind of like that…definitely not as good as the real thing.

We also tried taking a walk after dinner tonight, but we had to rush back to the house about 10 minutes into it when a sudden downpour started. That brings me to the realization that I need to figure out an alternative exercise for times like these.

Oh, and on a totally random note…I’m listening to Viva La Vida by Coldplay. I really love this song! It’s one of those songs you can listen to several times and not get tired of it too quickly. Some people have said that it is about King Henry, King Herod, Napoleon, etc. Whatever it’s about, it’s the sounds and lyrics are great…very epic. Check it out:

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

