Posted by: wurdygirl | August 22, 2008

Those Books Nearly Killed Me

I promise that I was going to post pictures of the enchiladas that I made recently, but my children seem to have deleted them. This is unfortunate because I wanted to show you how delicious-looking they were. I will post the recipe anyway at the end of this post.

I returned to work at the school on Monday. This is my first time to be starting the year and I can truly say that I had noooooooooo idea how much work goes into getting ready for the school year. It’s exhausting! Primarily, I have unpacked, packed, labeled, lifted, transported, and delivered textbooks. I did the math. Here’s a look: new math books (733 not including Spanish textbooks)- I have laid my hands on these no less than 3,665 times. This includes unpacking, labeling, stacking on the shelves, taking them down, & delivering them. social studies books (438 books)laid hands on these (unpacking and delivering) no less than 876 times. language arts books (438 books as far as I can recall)- same number of times as the social studies books. reading books (520 books)- I have laid my hands on these at least 1,040 times. I lost count of all the workbooks and I’m not yet finished with the science books. So, according to my calculations, I have handled at least 2,129 books. Remember that this does not include workbooks. I have handled these books at least 6,457 times this week.

HOLY CRAP!!! No wonder my arms are about to detach from my shoulders! I’m hurting in places I didn’t even know that I had muscles. My thighs and buttocks are on fire. My fingers hurt. My hands hurt. I’m pretty sure my feet are going to fall off. My toes feel bruised. My only consolation is that I’m getting paid to do this and I’ve probably burned about zillion calories. There is no way in hell that I’d willingly subject myself to this unlike some people who hire personal trainers to put them in this kind of hurt. That said, I’ve gone home every night with a sense of accomplishment.

Of course, due to delivering all of these books, I haven’t had much time to eat. I was really worried about my food choices when I went back, but it seems to have worked itself out. I’m now eating baked, skinless, chicken thighs for breakfast. I know, it doesn’t sound appetizing, but it’s good. I usually eat some turkey lunch meat with 9 or 18 (depends on how hungry I am) All Bran crackers and Grey Poupon Deli mustard. Today, I had a South Beach ham and turkey wrap meal. I ate it all, but felt overly full for a while. Honestly, dinner has either been a “fend-for-yourself” night, leftovers, or Subway. I can pack away a 6 inch veggie sub just fine. It’s definitely time for another fill. Despite that, I’ve stayed right around 1,100 calories each day with my exercise added in. Not too bad, but I don’t know the results yet because I’m staying away from the devil of a scale I have for a while.

Tomorrow, I plan on doing nothing. I mean it. Absolutely nothing! Okay, it might not work out that way, but that’s my goal. Sunday, I’ve got to meal plan and cook. I want to enjoy my last weekend off before school kicks off somewhat. I hope all of you have an enjoyable weekend as well.

AGH! I almost forgot the enchilada recipe!

Chicken Enchiladas with Verde Sauce

  • 20+ corn tortillas
  • rotisserie chicken meat (used white and dark), shredded
  • 1 large onion, chopped and cooked
  • 1 c Mexican blend cheese
  • 1 large bottle of salsa verde or tomatillo salsa
  • 1 c chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 c sour cream
  • 3-4 T canola oil

Saute chopped onions until carmelized and set aside. Shred store bought rotisserie chicken meat. Mix with onions. Put salsa verde, cilantro, & sour cream in a blender. Blend until smooth. Pour mixture into a sauce pan and heat on low until it gets hot, then turn heat down to warm. Heat about 10 tortillas at a time in a moistened towel in the microwave just to soften them up enough to work with without tearing. Place about 2 T chicken meat/onion mixure in tortilla. Roll tortilla up, place seam side down in sprayed baking dish. Repeat until you fill the dish completely up. Brush enchiladas with oil before putting on sauce (this keeps the tortillas from soaking up all the sauce). Pour sauce over enchiladas. Top with cheese. Bake for about 30 minutes or until cheese is brown and sauce is bubbly. These are delicious!!!

Oh, yeah…and for my vegetarian son I made cheese enchiladas which involved me putting about 2 T of cheese/onion mixture as the filling. Next time, I’m going to try a spinach, cheese, tomato, cilantro, onion mixture for the filling. These are really versatile.

Leave a Reply

Categories

