Posted by: wurdygirl | August 23, 2008

Where’s My Lunch?

I said I wasn’t going to do anything today. As those of you with children know, things seldom work out as you plan; especially, if you plan to do nothing.

My son, the vegetarian, asked me what I was going to do about his lunches this year. That got me to thinking about the lunches that the school serves. Frankly, I can’t think of much that he could eat that didn’t have some meat something in it. So, we decided that he and I would try to eat the same things as much as possible. This way, I can cook one time and make extra for our lunches the next day. I also tried to think of something easy that he can assemble for himself at school.

Frankly, I’m very proud of myself. I came up with some good ideas. I had to go stock back up on my storage containers and buy my son a new lunch box. I swear that those storage containers disappear like our socks. There must be a black hole at the back of my cabinet as well as behind the dryer. Anyway, here are some of the ideas that I came up with. 

  1. Assemble your own fruit/yogurt creation using lowfat vanilla yogurt, Splenda sweetened fruit cocktail, and add about 1/4c of granola. Add slice of whole wheat bread with peanut butter in case he’s still hungry. (I’ll eat some sort of protein with it.)
  2. Taco salad- salad greens, lentils, brown rice, greek yogurt (tastes like sour cream), salsa, & cheese
  3. Burrito day- black beans/corn/tomato mixture, greek yogurt, salsa, & cheese
  4. My veggie pasta salad- recipe included in post. (This will be a side dish to my protein.)
  5. Veggie pita- whole wheat pita, black bean burger, greek yogurt, salsa, cheese or just whatever veggies he wants
  6. I bought lowfat string cheeses, sugar free drink mixes that he can put in his bottle of water, Nature Valley granola bars, and multigrain All Bran crackers. I can add these in wherever needed to make sure he has enough to eat.

I think it’s a good plan. He’s pretty excited about it and happy with the nutrition he’ll get. If he had to depend on picking at his food to find things he could eat, he would not be a happy camper and I would worry.

I made this recipe tonight to try it out and see if my son liked it enough to make it a meal. Fortunately, he did. I ate about a cup of this after eating my chipoltle citrus flavored chicken thigh. I ate too quickly and that amount wound up being too much. Not good. Remember…Lap Band= eating small bites, slowly. Inhaling my food is something I’ve done for years that I’m still trying to break myself of.

Veggie Pasta Salad

  • 1 box of Ronzoni Smart Taste rotini
  • 2 c frozen broccoli florets
  • 1 c frozen mixed vegetables
  • 1 can of dark red kidney beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 small can of sliced black olives
  • 1/2 bottle of light italian dressing

 

Cook noodles and vegetables at the same time (I do this all in the same pot). Cook according to noodle package suggestions. I cooked mine for 9 minutes and it turned out perfect. Drain pasta & veggies, rinse with cold water. Place in large bowl. Add kidney beans, black olives, & dressing. Toss gently and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. The flavors strengthen and blend the longer you let it sit. I occasionally would toss mine throughout the day. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

