Posted by: wurdygirl | September 18, 2008

Stress and the Lap Band

I’ve read in a few different places that stress can make your band feel much tighter. I didn’t put much faith in it because I didn’t see the reasoning behind it. Well, I still don’t know the reasoning, but I can tell you that it’s definitely true in my experience. I’ve been under some stress recently and I really do have trouble eating. I also feel like I am bruised inside. I don’t know how to describe it other than that. Kind of like after my C-section…I had that bruised inside feeling then as well.

So, my eating has been affected for sure. I’m definitely learning new ways to cope with my stress rather than food simply because I have to. My eating pattern seems to be leveling out too. I ususally start the day with coffee sweetened with Equal and a tsp of light creamer. I eat some kind of protein for breakfast, a mid-morning snack of either a fat (cheese) or complex carb,  a protein and veggies for lunch, usually a low fat/low sugar granola bar for an afternoon snack, and a dinner of proteins and veggies….and, wow….that’s a huge run on sentence. Sorry. Eating small portions every couple of hours seems to work best for me and my body. I’m averaging a 2 lb loss a week.

Anyway, you should believe those people who say that stress affects the band because they’re not joking. If anyone has a clue as to why, I’d certainly be interested to hear it.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad I found this. I have been under stress the last week and I have a hard time evening keeping liquids down! I’m sure the stress increases when I worry about not getting enough protein and feeling thirsty and thinking I’m getting dehydrated. 😦
    This too shall pass! ? ! ?


Leave a Reply

Categories

