Posted by: wurdygirl | October 12, 2008

Thai Noodles

Well, I really wanted a picture of this dish, but my camera just refuses to take a clear picture these days. I think it’s getting time to replace it soon.

Anyway, I have a Spark People account and I periodically will receive recipes from them. I usually don’t really read these recipes, but this one caught my eye. This is a copy of the Spark People recipe. I’ve put my words in italics.

Thai Noodle Salad

Serves: 4You’ll get 100% of your daily vitamin C with this dish! Reprinted with permission by Public Health – Seattle & King County

INGREDIENTS
6 oz. dried vermicelli (I used Barilla Plus spaghetti)
1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup low-sodium vegetable broth
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon garlic, minced
1 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced (I used a garlic/ginger paste I got at the Asian grocery)
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1-1/2 cups cooked chicken, shredded or chopped (served on the side with respect to my vegetarian son)
1 red sweet pepper, seeded and cut into thin strips
3 green onions, cut diagonally into 1/2 inch pieces
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1 lime wedges for garnish (I didn’t do this)

DIRECTIONS
1. Cook vermicelli according to package instructions, drain and set aside.
2. In a medium saucepan, combine soy sauce, broth, peanut butter, lime juice, ginger and crushed red pepper. Cook over medium-low heat until peanut butter is melted.
3. Add cooked pasta and toss to coat evenly.
4. Stir in cooked chicken, sweet red pepper, green onions and cilantro.
5. Serve with lime wedges.

NUTRITION INFO
Calories: 230.5
Fat: 6.8 g
Carbohydrates: 24.4 g
Protein: 19.4 g

 

I have to say that this dish was simply delicious and absolutely gorgeous. I was worried about my kids eating the red pepper, but they both ate it with no trouble. I think because it wasn’t cooked. I actually had doubled the recipe and wound up with a LOT of leftovers. That was okay though because we just ate them for lunch the next day.

I did have some trouble with the white meat chicken. Those of you who have followed my story know that it does not agree with me. However, I found that if I cut the meat into tiny, tiny (like half the size of a pencil eraser) pieces, I could get it down okay. I also had to chew a lot too. You know, looking back, that’s probably why I didn’t eat so much of this dish. I was exhausted from all the cutting and chewing. It was very much worth it!

On a side note, if you have little girls or grand-daughters that love hair bows, you should check out my co-worker’s website. She makes the most incredible bows! She has holiday ones that feature spiders and pumpkins…all made out of ribbon. I don’t normally promote things here, but she is so talented. I got to see them first hand on Saturday and they are amazing! Check out her website at: www.mycutebows.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

