Posted by: wurdygirl | November 8, 2008

Another Mexican Night

I know it’s been a while since I posted anything. i apologize. Life has gotten very busy of late and I haven’t even really been cooking anything new. However, tonight I decided to try no less than 3 new recipes that I have run across over the last couple of week. It turned out terrific! I made homemade salsa verde for the first time and used it as a sauce to cook boneless cut up pork in and served it over rice. So, two recipes in one right there. I also had some sweet potatoes with chili, cumin, & lime that I cooked in the crockpot, using a recipe I found here at A Year of Crockpotting. If you haven’t visited this site and you love your crockpot, I highly suggest this website. She has some fabulous crockpot recipes.

The salsa verde was very easy to make. I have been afraid to try it in the past because I didn’t know how to deal with the tomatillos. It turns out to be easier than you can even believe. I will definitely be making this again, but I’m going to try roasting the peppers and tomatillos in the oven next time.

Salsa Verde

  • 8 or 9 tomatillos (found in the produce section, looks like a green tomato covered with a skin like an onion)
  • 2 or 3 whole jalapenos
  • 6 medium or large sprigs of cilantro
  • 1/4 of a small onion

Peel skin off of the tomatillos, remove stem by twisting. Cut the stem off of the jalapenos. Place tomatillos and jalapenos in a saucepan and cover with water. Boil for about 10 minutes. After boiling, drain and transfer tomatillos and jalapenos to a blender. Add onion and cilantro. Pulse blender until the salsa reaches the consistency you like. If it’s still looking too thick, I’m told that you can add some tablespoons of water. I found that the consistency was just perfect. Chill & serve or use in cooking dish like I did.

I used the salsa verde on two things; browned and cut up boneless pork chops and seared salmon for my son. After browning and cubing the pork (you could use chicken too), I poured about a cup of the salsa verde over it, turned the heat down to medium low, covered, and let it cook for about 30 more minutes. My son’s salmon, I seared on each side with a sprinkle of chili powder, cumin, and garlic. I then covered with the salsa verde, turned off the heat and placed a cover on the pan. I let it sit until we were ready to eat (about 20 minutes). I served this over rice and topped with chopped cilantro and onions. Oh, and a squeeze of lime. YUMMY! I’m sure you could go completely vegetarian with this too by using lentils or grilled veggies. I think it would wind up equally delicious.

The crockpot baked sweet potatoes with chili, cumin, & lime turned out better than I could imagine. I was a little nervous about them because they sounded so weird. However, that’s also what led me to try them. Even the kids loved them and, for the first time in their lives, ate the skin. The skin is where most of the flavor is at. Also, I don’t know if the crockpot website said to do this, but I wrapped each individual potato with seasonings in foil. I semi-balled up some foil for the bottom and placed the wrapped sweet potatoes on top. I cooked them on low, covered tightly with the lid. I let them cook for about 4-5 hours and then turned the heat off without lifting the lid until we were ready to eat them.

Everything was great. I can’t say that it was bandster-style because of the rice, but you could serve the meat on lettuce and make a wrap or even corn tortillas. This will be a definite repeat in our house. I wish that I could have gotten a picture of it, but the camera was not being friendly today.

Leave a Reply

Categories

