Posted by: wurdygirl | July 18, 2008

Chicken & Cantaloupe Salad

This is something that was so good, I have to share it. I got this recipe from Diabetic Cooking magazine. I’m not diabetic, but I love the magazine and have gotten some really good recipes from it. The fare on the menu for tonight was Chicken & Cantaloupe Salad. It’s very band friendly and delicious!

I tweaked the recipe to use things had in the house and according to taste. Here’s the recipe:

2 cups chilled, cooked chicken breast, chopped

2 cups chilled cantaloupe, chopped

3-4 T fresh mint leaves

Dressing:

3 T orange juice

1 T canola oil

2 T basalmic vinegar (I used Maple Grove FF basamic vinegar dressing)

2 tsp lime

1 tsp salt

1 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp curry powder

3-4 dashes of Lousiana hot sauce or equivalent

Place chicken and cantaloupe into a bowl. Mix dressing and pour over salad. Mix gently & serve.

As far as my journey with the band, I’m now a little over 5 weeks out. I’m down 39 lbs and feeling very good. I am suffering from some dry skin that is perhaps due to my diet or maybe the recovery from surgery. I go in for my first fill on July 28th and am very excited about it…and a little nervous too. I’m so very glad that I had the surgery and feel better than I have in years. I wish that I would have gotten it done much sooner.


Leave a comment

Categories